Sometimes I Surrender

IS1

Tonight I crossed the bridge of sighs and I surrendered

It’s been a rough week… well it has been a rough summer. Rough largely just because it has been so busy and tiring. It has definitely taken away time I spent on photographic projects, or personal life in general for that matter. The good news is I keep re-working older photos. This week was the roughest yet and I am left pretty exhausted. I should be in bed and soon I shall be, but before I went I made a point to get to one or two of my images, bring’em to life and to express myself creatively. It has proven to be the best balance for me over the years. Some seek comfort with family, others counsel with friends, being an introvert I turn to myself and the things I made during the lighter moments. My photos are records not of places I have been or things I have seen; they are records of me in moments, generally better ones. Through the photos then I can connect with that bit of myself. Creating is a wonderful gift and the benefits it imparts can balance out a lot of things. It is one of the best balms I have found when my soul is weary or my body exhausted or my mind negatively preoccupied. And yes, even with this piece here and now; the process of editing these photos, writing about them (vaguely) and sharing them has had a discernible effect on my mood. So yes, I am glad I sat down and connected with that part of me.

IS4

Birds fly and fill the summer skies and sometimes I surrender

I mostly crafted this post for my own purposes, but I suppose there is an example in this to be shared too and if I was going to turn that into encouragement it is to use positive action to balance negative. Creation, at least in this sense, then is very positive. Something to keep in mind, perhaps.

IS2

Sweet Dreams.

IS5

The disappearing world of footprints in the sand.

http://www.berndkugow.photos/

Leave a Reply

