Silence Is Another Way

CB2

To saying what I want to say.

I remember this image, because it was a triumph of sorts, albeit a small one. But then again, so many of the pictures I make are small triumphs. This photo came after a challenging time. Photography is perception. I photograph what I see, or how I see. So how I think, how I feel are all deciding factors. Go out in a bad mood, or get discouraged, sullen, glum, unfocused or frustrated and these things impede one’s ability to see clearly. I was under two clouds not long before I made this image. There were the literal clouds hanging overhead. Those I didn’t mind in the least. And then there were the other clouds we sometimes find ourselves under.

But this story has a happy ending, or at least a happier ending than it did beginning. Things were turned around, some choices were made, I zigged instead of zagged. Sometimes this isn’t easy to do, but it is important to do, especially as a photographer. I slowly made my way back to that place I like to visit as often as I can, that space where I operate with a sense of wonder and curiosity for the world, where there aren’t edges or boundaries and time flows and light flows and in this case, the ocean flows. I stood there having climbed down a steep ravine, the cool ocean breeze gusting around me, causing curious little dances around my feet and I watched and waited and exposed and breathed and looked and found myself again. At least a bit of myself for a little while. But that is how it goes.

CB1

We need our places to play and to just be our ideal selves. I have found many places in the world that suit this purpose for me. I’m glad this image happened, then, for all the reasons partially explained and many others not.

CB3

http://www.berndkugow.photos/

Leave a Reply

