The Outpost

TO4

TO3

So I decide to drive 280 miles to Dungeness, it’s the longest day of the year, it’s Wednesday, it’s hot, it’s 35C, empty and all mine.

TO1

The coast fascinates, it pulls with some invisible force. We go as far as we can, to the edge of our land and congregate at the border. Some step across, just a few feet, before retreating to the security and familiarity. But what brings us?  Why do we gather at such a place? I have my list of reasons and when I think about them on a cosmic scale they feel pretty silly. Because it’s beautiful. Because I like the sound of the ocean. Because that is where all the roads end.

TO7

But I wonder if there is something deeper that brings us. I have no clue what that is though.

TOP1

And like everyone else, I gather here and linger, pulled by something far older than myself.

TO12

I trudge the gravel, photographing anything that sticks out.

TO16

The faint smell of oil oozing from dozens of decaying engines on rusted frames

TO15

Once used to winch boats onto the shingle.

TO5

Scattered shacks break the desert landscape, all with a presence that demands a photo to be made.

TO11

Tide and time

TOP

Take a step, you move in time

TO8

And it’s not always back

TO2

The Outpost

TO10

It’s a magical place. Once there, everything becomes simpler.

TO17

Confusion disappears

TO18

Clarity returns.

TO13

A journey I will remember for a very long time. In fact I guess it will stay with me for all time.

http://www.berndkugow.photos/

Leave a Reply

