Eyes Ears Heart And Soul

MP2Photography and

MP1Music

MP3What is it about music that moves us in so many different ways?

MP4What is it about a photograph that moves us equally?

To me the they are two sides of the same coin. When I listen to music I see pictures, images – re-visit places. The same applies the other way. When I am submerged in making a photograph the ambient noise disappears and sounds, well-loved sounds, enter the moment and envelop me.

DSC_6031Our tastes may differ but music’s ability to move us on a deeply emotional level is universal. Music can trigger profound memories which previously lay dormant, exciting our sense of nostalgia and creating intense feelings of joy or melancholy.

img021As can viewing old Photographs.

There is something ineffable about the way in which music makes us feel, as if at its most profound level it takes us into the realm of the sacred, where words can no longer do justice and attempts to describe it only sully the experience.

MP5Music has the power to transport you away to the places you belong and give you wings.

MP6

*

“I have no idea to this day what those two Italian ladies were singing about. Truth is, I don’t want to know. Something’s are best left unsaid. I’d like to think they were singing about something so beautiful, it cannot be expressed in words, and it makes your heart ache because of it. I tell you, those voices soared higher and farther than anybody in a grey place dares to dream. It was like some beautiful bird flapped into our drab little cage and made those walls dissolve away, and for the briefest of moments, every last man felt free.”

From the film The Shawshank Redemption. Prisoner Andy Dufresne defies Warden Sam Norton by playing  Mozart’s Marriage of Figaro – over the prison’s loudspeakers.

*

And as I sit here and try to capture the essence of what music is, “Max Richter’s – Three Worlds: Music From Woolf Works” gently pours out of the system and transports me away. I am lost in the beauty. This piece is so elegant and so moving. I close my eyes. Indulge myself in the sense of sound. Feel a smile gently rise across my face. And I’m gone. To where I am transported, nobody knows but I am away.

MP7

And hopefully I return with some images.

http://www.berndkugow.photos/

Leave a Reply

