Can You Feel The Silence

si1

Such places

At such times

Have such wonderful stillness

si5

Photography for me is a process of questioning. I don’t use a camera to take things or capture them or even to find images or even answers. I like how photography can start conversations for me, many of them solely in my own head and under my breath. The process lets me step just a bit out of myself, my head and the preconceptions I carry and wear like an old pair of boots.

si4

This landscape could have just been a landscape, it could have just been a photo of a landscape but instead it became a part of a narrative and an exploration on too many tangential topics to be able to explain, both for lack of time and desire on my part.

si6

Just as I am not generally one to have my camera prove things for me, I am also not one to try to provide the answers for others.

si7

With photography no landscape has to be just a landscape.

si3

The idea of a snap landscape has long intrigued me. You know, the methods that (some) street photography embodies. The capturing of a decisive moment, the unique moment, split seconds – brought to landscapes. The majority of my landscapes are productions of thought and action. I don’t mind this, I love waiting in the slow down world of pinhole photography. But at the same time, much landscape photography is not about split seconds… seconds maybe, but not split seconds. There are few decisive moments that seem to be found out there. And yes, it is a different world beyond where the roads end, but that doesn’t mean that I can’t try seeing with eyes I don’t usually bring out there. Why not try a little candid landscape photography.

si8

So I took the only road I knew.

si2

http://www.berndkugow.photos/

Leave a Reply

