We Are Not Old – We Are Retro

r

Well maybe a little,…….but definitely retro. This is not a post about age or associated topics, but a little piece about my Rolleiflex.

I was asked recently to name my favourite Camera. That is an impossible question for me to answer. I would compare it to having to choose your favourite record, movie, book or painting. So I turned my answer around and said that my most treasured camera would be my Rolleiflex 2.8f.

Several reasons for this. The Rolleiflex I own is the same age as me, so there is some connection. But more importantly is the memory of the moment I first saw one, I wanted one and even more so since seeing images by Diane Arhus, Vivian Maier and especially Robert Doisneaus Book “Paris Les Halles Market”. I was hooked and wanted to photograph people with that Rolleiflex magic.Robert Doisneaus book about the last days of Les Halles Market is packed full of images that showcase the magic the Rolleiflex can bring to the moment when photographing people. I can highly recommend this publication. The camera somehow adds something I can only describe as another human dimension.

r1

I have discovered exactly the same as those esteemed photographers  before me when using this Camera. And after some trial and error in identifying the film/developer that would complement my photography, and this camera best, I settled on these three.

  • Ilford Pan F
  • Kodak Tri-X 400 pushed to ISO 1600
  • Kodak Portra 800

All these images here were made with these three films.

r3

r7

r8

img137

r4

r5

r6

Thank you for stopping by.

http://www.berndkugow.photos/

Leave a Reply

