The River

new

Few people want to sit and contemplate at the edge of an uncared for River. I like to think of websites as Streams and Rivers, and I had a personal website, but it largely lay stagnant. I used it more as a static portfolio site and Flickr was more like my daily photographic journal. A significant amount of time was spent on Flickr, posting and writing. It was quite important to me as I am driven by a desire to share much of my philosophy on photography as well and up to a couple of years ago I was content to share that via Flickr. But those attitudes have shifted with time and we move on. Rust never sleeps.

So today you are standing at the water’s edge of a new born stream and for those of you reading this in December of 2016, you get to be witnesses to the first tentative trickles, the splashing and cascading of this new born stream of ideas and I greatly appreciate that. My new website and this related Blog will not be a haphazardly done activity, it will be alive and vital and it will slowly grow over time and take us places that I hope many can enjoy and benefit from. Along the roaming pathways you can expect to find many different things. There will be technical info: the cameras I have used and the films I have exposed and there will be philosophical musings. There has to be. So much of how I approach photography is philosophical and I think being mindful of how I think about photography has a great impact on how I do photography. There will be entries on photographic adventures and odysseys, hopefully not infrequently… and of course, there will be photographs themselves. I do not plan to cycle the galleries on the site often. They are intended to be the collections of images that mean the most to me. They will undoubtedly change but that change will be gradual. But secondary collections can and will show up over there too.

The nature of a blog means that communication is biased in one direction but there will be room for comments.
So thank you, for right now and for all future participation. Thank you to those who are stopping by for the first time. I look forward to what the future of this Rivers Journey brings and where it shall lead us to.

new1

http://www.berndkugow.photos/

2 thoughts on “The River

Leave a Reply

