Going Back Pt.2 or Majorcean Memories

In a previous post I talked about how I like to go back to familiar places and try to see and discover new things. Well this falls into that category albeit it could cover travel and getting older and maybe a little wiser as well.

spain

20 years old and care free. Pit stop at a deserted farmhouse mainland Spain on the way to Majorca.

During my childhood I spent many sun-soaked and long summer holidays on the beautiful Island of Majorca. In the early 80s I managed to work and live there.

CM7

Holiday Club Pontinental Cala Mesquida Pirate Club 1982

CM4

21st birthday in Porto Cristo

I always promised myself to go back. But that it would take almost 30 years I did not envisage.

DSC_4788

My hotel for the trip. Highly recommended.

So as my 50th birthday approached I decided to take a trip down memory lane and try to visit as many places as I could remember and hopefully see one or two new ones.

DSC_4816

Watching the sun rise in the mountains on my 50th birthday.

DSC_4844

Cala Mesquida now.

DSC_4845

Only the Beach Hut remains at Cala Mesquida of what once was a large Holiday Club. Happy Memories.

DSC_6031

Palma

Many things have changed and the Island is not as unspoiled and rural as it once was. It has however retained its magical charm if one cares to look and seek.

DSC_6030

Palma

DSC_4922

Palma

DSC_4857

Playa Romantica and the famous Gran Meson. Sadly no more. Haunt of many crazy times.

DSC_6035

Celler Sa Premsa. Superb beyond words.

DSC_4882

Birthday Dinner at the Hotel

 

DSC_4860

The Start of the 4 Coves Walk

DSC_4872

The most beautiful of the 4 Coves

DSC_4870

At the end of the walk. Blisters popped. Ouch.

I thoroughly enjoyed my memory trip and still would like to retire there one day, as to me it is the most beautiful place I know.

But if you want to give God a laugh tell her your plans…………

http://www.berndkugow.photos

Leave a Reply

