Unpredictability

Blog

Life as well as Photography have their fair share of unpredictability. Chance and fortune and luck. In some ways we work to minimise that which we cannot predict, and we are not always aware we are doing so. In some ways we work to embrace it. Consider all the unpredictable elements that went into this image. First I headed to Barmouth on the Welsh Coast… Would it be raining when I got there? Or sunny? Or neither? And no matter what it was when I arrived, who knew what it would be an hour after that. And then I loaded my camera with  expired film. And on top of all that this was pinhole photography to stretch this exposure out several minutes.

 

Was I worried about any of this going awry? No because at the end of the day it was just a  piece of film, no big deal really. It wasn’t like I lost my time, I enjoyed the wait and the stay on the shore, the gaze over the ocean regardless of the exposure. Marvelled at the boat builders as they were getting their vessels sea worthy again. It wasn’t like I’d lose that fabulous sense of curiosity that makes me want to do things like this, if anything a “failure” would only have fed it.

 

This image only turned out halfway like I expected it to. Some aspects of the final photograph matched my hopes or intentions but the other half were unplanned or responses to unplanned factors that revealed themselves in the final image and required some adaptation on my part in the scanning and post-processing.

 

But for me this is the name of the game. That element of chance mixed with curiosity combined with adaptation and evolution. Every time I go out to expose silver to light I end up seeing a bit more than I expected to see.

http://www.berndkugow.photos

Leave a Reply

